The Chicago Philharmonic Chamber Players
in Hinsdale:

Classic Winds:
Dance Music of Mozart,
Dvorak and More

Chicago Philharmonic Chamber Players

Classic Winds: Dance Music of Mozart, Dvorak and More
(Woodwind Quintet)

Sunday, March 1, 2015, 3:00 p.m.

Union Church of Hinsdale
137 S. Garfield
Hinsdale, IL 60521

(Advance):  $10 Senior, $15 Adult (Click to buy tickets!)
(At Door):  $15 Senior, $20 Adult
Children 18 and under are free!
After the concert, enjoy a complimentary reception with the performers with refreshments provided by Whole Foods Market Hinsdale.

Reception Sponsor Whole Food Market Hinsdale




Classic Winds takes you on a 60-minute musical tour from 17th Century Hungary to 19th Century America and beyond! The emphasis is on dance as we re-create the sounds of Mozart at his most sublime and apply the varied colors of the woodwind instruments to Dvorak’s most famous string quartet. The music of Scott Joplin, the “King of Ragtime,” will get your toes tapping, as will a lively collection of Hungarian tunes with titles like “The Jumping Dance.” Finally, we head south for a selection of lush tango music from the great Piazzolla and other South American composers. Along the way, you will meet the woodwind quintet family – flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and horn – and experience the unique palette of colors that they bring to the afternoon’s wide variety of music.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Divertimento K. 270
1. Allegro molto

Ferenc Farkas (1905-2000)
Hungarian Dances

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Serenade in E flat major, K.375
2. Menuetto
4. Menuetto
5. Finale: Allegro

Antonín Leopold Dvořák (1841-1904)
String Quartet No. 12 (“American”), Op. 96, arranged for winds
1. Allegro ma non tropo
3. Molto vivace
4. Finale: Vivace ma non troppo

Scott Joplin (1868-1917)
Maple Leaf Rag
Cascades Rag
Easy Winners Rag

Isaac Albenez (1860-1909)
Tango from Suite Espagnol

Astor Piazzola (1921-1992)
Milonga sin Palabras

Arturo Marquez (b. 1950)
Danza de Mediodia

John Thorne, Flute
Judi Lewis, Oboe
Sergey Gutorov, Clarinet
Preman Tilson, Bassoon
Neil Kimel, Horn